Tribal Council

Elected from the General Council of the Coyote Valley Band of Pomo Indians is a seven member Tribal Council charged with the responsibility of maintaining governmental relationships, managing tribal affairs and promoting the economic well-being of the Tribe. The Tribal Council, as prescribed in the Tribe’s Constitution, holds office for four years.

Michael Hunter

Michael Hunter, Chairman

Elected on December 4, 2012

The Chairperson of the Tribal Council presides over and votes at all meetings of the Tribal Council. Subject to the approval of the Tribal Council, the Chairperson exercises the power to appoint all non-elected officials and employees of the Tribal government and direct them in their work, establish such boards, committees, or sub-committees as the business of the Tribal Council may require and to serve as a contracting officer or agent for the Tribe.

Patrick Naredo

Patrick Naredo, Vice Chairman

Elected on December 6, 2011

The Vice-Chairperson of the Tribal Council, with the approval of the Tribal Council, in the absence of the chairperson, perform all duties and assume all the responsibilities vested in the chairperson. Upon request of the chairperson, assist in carrying out the duties of the chairperson or such duties as the chairperson may direct.

Candace Gonzalez

Candace Gonzalez, Secretary

Elected April 24, 2013

The Secretary of the Tribal Council is charged with the responsibility of handling all official correspondence of the Tribal Council, keeping the minutes of all meetings of the Tribal and General Council and certifying to the Superintendent of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, Central California Agency, the duly elected officers of the Tribal and General Council within fifteen (15) days from the date of any election.

EPD Staff

Kelli Jaynes, Treasurer

Elected August 4, 2009

The Treasurer of the Tribal Council is vested with the responsibility to keep and safeguard all funds under the exclusive control of the Tribe and keeps or causes to be kept an accurate record of such funds. The Treasurer is charged with reporting on all receipts and expenditures to the Tribal and General Council.

triangleRichard Campbell Jr., Historian

Elected December 5, 2017

The Tribe’s Historian is responsible for compiling a permanent written or taped account of the history of the Tribe. By interviewing elders and other members and by seeking out any and all other sources of information pertaining to the Tribe, the Historian keeps record of historical, spiritual and social traditions.

John Feliz Sr.

John Feliz Sr., Member At Large

Elected December 9, 2014

Elected in 2015 to the Coyote Valley Tribal Council, John Feliz, Sr. serves as a Tribal Council Member to the Tribal government of the Coyote Valley Band of Pomo Indians. Council Member Feliz served the Tribe in prior leadership positions as a Tribal Historian and Tribal Secretary to the Tribal Council.

EPD Staff

Melinda Hunter, Member At Large

Elected December 16, 2006

Melinda Hunter was born in Ukiah, California on December 8, 1968 to Priscilla and Michael Hunter Sr. She has lived in the Ukiah/Redwood Valley area for most of her life. She moved onto the Coyote Valley Reservation in 1987.

One of her lifelong interests has always been her Pomo culture. She participates in many cultural events by singing and dancing in the tradition of her ancestors.


Our Culture
Our Culture
Our People
Our People